The 2019-2020 school year for the students of Toledo Public Schools starts on Friday, August 16, when all freshmen report for a full day and elementary students report for half a day.

And then all students (include all high school students) have a full day on Monday, August 19 (and kindergartners start on Thursday, August 22). The Early High School Opportunity program starts on Wednesday, August 21, as do gifted morning classes, which will run from 7:45 a.m. until 11: 20 a.m. The fourth grade enrichment classes begin the week of August 26 and will run from noon until 2 p.m. The learning communities for the enrichment classes and their days are: Mondays: Scott area; Tuesdays, Rogers and Start areas; Wednesdays: Bowsher and Waite areas and Thursday, Woodward area.

If you haven't already, click here for the Registration Form. Fill it out and bring it the school your child will be attending when school buildings reopen on Monday, August 5. Please click on the Important Forms tab under Students & Parents on the home page if you need this form in Spanish, Arabic or Chinese. That's also the place to look for such forms as the emergency medical card or the athletic participation form that needs to be filled out for the Ohio High School Athletic Association.

Also, remember that all elementary schools will be open for open houses on the evening of Thurday, August 15, so students can meet their teachers and store their school supplies. All schools will be open from 5:30 to 7 p.m.

Finally, here is a list for Fall Open House dates for TPS high schools. 

Tuesday, August 20

  • ANSAT - 5 to 6:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 21

  • Toledo Early College (for current students only and their families) - 5 to 6 p.m.

Thursday, August 22

  • Jones Leadership Academy of Business - 5:30 to 7 p.m.
  • Start High School - 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. (Schedule pickup on Tuesday, August 13, from 9 a.m. until noon)
  • Toledo Technology Academy - 4:30 to 6:30 p.m.

Tuesday, August 27

  • Waite High School - 5:30 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Westfield @ Phoenix - 4 to 5 p.m.

Wednesday, August 28

  • Rogers High School - 6:30 to 8 p.m.

Friday August 30

Scott High School - 4:30 to 6:30 p.m. 

Wednesday, September 4

  • Bowsher High School - 6 to 7 p.m. (Schedule pick up on Tuesday, August 13, from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.)
  • Woodward High School - 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

Other important dates for you to remember:

Wednesday, August 21: First day of the Early High School Opportunity program

Friday, October 11: End of first quarter; elementary students only have a two-hour delayed start

Thursday, October 24, and Friday, October 25: Parent/Teacher conferences for elementary school students (no school for those students; high school students report for regular days)

Tuesday, November 5: Election Day (Teacher work day; no school for students)

Wednesday, November 27-Friday, November 29: Thanksgiving Break for students and TPS staff members

Thursday, December 19: End of second quarter and end of first semester

Friday, December 20: Teacher work day; start of Winter Break for students

Monday, December 23, 2019, through January 6, 2020: Winter Break

Monday, January 6: Teacher work day

Tuesday, January 7: Classes resume for all students

Friday, March 13: End of third quarter; elementary students only wll have a two-hour delayed start