Social and Emotional Learning

In all TPS schools, classrooms, and learning environments, we recognize how important it is to nurture the whole child. That's why we follow the four learning domains identified in the Ohio Department of Education's strategic plan for education: Each Child, Our Future.

ODE - 4 Learning Domains

Since social and emotional learning is critical to the learning experience of the whole child, we pay special attention to this. As we support each child, our educators are delivering foundational knowledge and skills and well-rounded content to guide students' leadership and reasoning.

We also pay careful attention to their needs in these five areas of social and emotional learning:

  • Self-awareness
  • Self-management
  • Social awareness
  • Relationship skills
  • Responsible decision-making

These areas are based on the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning's Framework.


Teachers have known for a long time that the so-called “soft skills” are must-haves for students. Success is about more than the academics.

Social emotional learning is a key element of the #TPSProud curriculum, no matter the school.


TPS Goal for SEL